Reflections : First Observation

This week i had my first official student teacher observation. This had me prepping for three days, reviewing teaching strategies , going over the lesson multiple time with my field teacher and of course occasional flash of “what if’s”. Of course i over prepared, and underestimated my self and ended the week feeling like hard work paid off. With reviewing and reflecting what i can do to fine tune my teaching strategies, I went over the whole process of the week in my head. I spent a week thinking about, planning and over preparing for one lesson. A forty-five minute lesson, that though ended in student successes and an accomplished feeling on my part , the fact doesn’t escape me that it was one lesson.
I know that I am a student teacher , still learning and always will be . But i am wondering how prepared i am becoming if all this preparation is an accurate depiction of what my life will be like next year in my own classroom. On one hand I am tempted to set a goal of shorter preparation for the next observation, but than what of all the thoughtfulness that went into this lesson? Yes, there is a way to balance time management with developing and implementing lessons ( notice the S at the end) for entire school days. But how do I keep the reflection and thoughtful preparation of knowing my student context, differentiation , testing new teaching strategies and curating engagement? The answer may lie within this post , and the challenge may be to find a time management style to accommodate this thinking. But until this shines brightly in my over head student lightbulb, I will continue to search through my reflections.

3 thoughts on “Reflections : First Observation

  1. With my observation looming over my head still I can totally relate to how you feel about over preparing. I think a lot of what we feel has to do with the nature of being a student teacher, that is trying to be perfect and make sure that we are looking good! Not to say that we shouldn’t try our best when we are teachers, it will just be a different world from the one we are experiencing right now. I think about how my CT prepares for lessons and so much of it is based on her prior knowledge of the curriculum from years of teaching it and her ability to adjust her lessons as they are happening from, again, years of experience. You are so incredibly thoughtful when it comes to your students, just remember that we are still fairly new to this and it will definitely get easier as time goes on!

    • Thank you for saying so!  I agree, the time and experience in the many years of teaching to come will ease some of this anxiety. Most of these reflections stems from the idea that we are entering this profession while it’s also in the beginnings of a “face lift” so to speak. Many experienced teachers will be adjusting their thinking and we will be taking what we are learning and fitting into a real life model. The Key, as you said, is balance and trial and error. I am just happy to have you as a colleague along this journey!

  2. The more you reflect and observe the classroom, the better. It may take you time and effort now but in the future a lot of this will come naturally to you. Your reflections will always be important but the nature of them will evolve. Best of luck with your teaching prac!

Leave a Reply

