Reflection Resurrection

I recently started up an old Sunday ritual that has been helpful along the way in my teaching journey: short reflective sketching sessions. It is something that really helps me reflect on the week I had, while relaxing my mind by “free” drawing and listening to music. I like to listen to TedTalks sometimes and this Sunday I came across Ji-Hae Park: The violin, and my dark night of the soul, which I highly recommend. Reflection, I have come to realize, will play a major role in my teaching. I will be reflecting after each work week, month and school year trying to see what I can improve, eliminate, or experiment with in my teaching.

Reflections
Education begins the gentleman, but reading, good company and reflection must finish him.
John Locke

Here is what came about from this Sunday’s reflective session; this is a sketch that I have been adding to week by week. Writing down what comes to mind during and after my sketching gives me raw insight to what was weighing heavily on me, or what left a light impression. I highly recommend all teachers, and students for that matter, create their own “ Sunday Reflection” –the results will be powerful for that I am sure of.

5 thoughts on “Reflection Resurrection

  1. This idea is amazing to bring into the classroom and reminds me of the readings we did on portfolios and how they were used for students to reflect on their learning throughout the school year. Having a reflection session once a week where students can really dig into the work they have done would be so helpful in the classroom. It would be interesting to set it up so that students can choose how they want to represent their reflections, whether it be through sketches, poems, stories, comic strips, etc. I bet there would be some fabulous results!

  2. I think it’s great that you found a method of reflection that really seems to work for you! Your sketch looks great! I also think it’s important that you write down your feelings as well. I also agree with Thoughts and Ramblings of a Future Educator that it is important to allow students to find their own method that works for them. Reflection is such an individual process and everyone has their own method that allows them to go deep inside of themselves and become more in touch with themselves. Limiting or telling students how to reflect would ruin the experience.
    On a somewhat different note, I also think it is important to be reflective in action. That is, while you are teaching or acting in everyday life, it is important to be reflecting at all times and making adjustments in the moment.

    • Thank you! i love this idea of reflection in action- what does that mean? what i took away from this comment was that mabey we should have more then ” reflective time” once a week in the classroom. would an “in action” moment be stoping mid lesson or activity or at the end of each lesson/unit ?

  3. The sketch and the word “reflection” make me think of the Bridge School.

    Thank you for this suggestion – I need organization in my life and practice, and mandating a weekly reflection period sounds like a good start. At the same time, I know I have trouble being creative and reflective on a schedule – and I know many students will too. Perhaps daily reflection or “choice” time – at all levels – is preferable, with an expectation of a reflective piece of some sort by the end of each week?

    • I thought of the bridge school as well- such a great idea.

      i love your use of ” choice time ” for daily or weekly reflective periods. I do not think that the student or teacher needs to worry about how creative they are. one should lean on what they turn too when in need of quite time or downtime and that will lead to the patttern of relfection.

Leave a Reply

